Never miss an update from Papermashup

Get notified about the latest tutorials and downloads.

Subscribe by Email

Get alerts directly into your inbox after each post and stay updated.

Subscribe by RSS

Add our RSS to your feedreader to get regular updates from us.

A Film Trilogy By Ingmar Bergman (Criterion Collection) On DVD

Regular Price: $79.95

Special Price $71.84

More Views


Actor :       Ingrid Thulin, Gunnar Björnstrand, Gunnel Lindblom, Max von Sydow, Harriet Andersson
Director:   Ingmar Bergman
Genre:       Foreign Video - Swedish
Year:         N/A
Studio:      Home Vision Entertainment
Length:     410
Released: August 19, 2003

Rating:       Not Rated (MPAA Rating)
Misc:          Black & White
Language:English, Swedish
Subtitles : English


At the beginning of the 1960s, renowned film director Ingmar Bergman began work on what were to become some of his most powerful and representative works—the Trilogy. Already a figure of tremendous international acclaim for such masterworks as The Seventh Seal, Wild Strawberries, and The Virgin Spring, Bergman turned his back on the abundant symbolism and exotic imagery of his ‘50s work to focus on a series of impacted, emotionally explosive chamber dramas examining faith and alienation in the modern age. Utilizing a new cameraman—the incomparable Sven Nykvist—Bergman unleashed Through a Glass DarklyWinter Light, and The Silence in rapid succession, exposing moviegoers worldwide to a new level of intellectual and emotional intensity. Each film employs minimal dialogue, eerily isolated settings, and searing performances from such Bergman regulars as Max von Sydow, Harriet Andersson, Gunnar Bjornstrand, Ingrid Thulin and Gunnel Lindblom in their evocation of a desperate world confronted with God’s desertion. Drawing on Bergman’s own severely religious upbringing and ensuing spiritual crisis, the films in the Trilogy are deeply personal, challenging, and enriching works that exhibit the filmmaker’s peerless formal mastery and fierce intelligence. The Criterion Collection is proud to present The Ingmar Bergman Trilogy: Through a Glass Darkly, Winter Light, and The Silence.

Special Features

  • Includes the following films:
  • Through a Glass Darkly, 1961 (91 minutes)
  • Winter Light, 1962 (80 minutes)
  • The Silence, 1963 (95 minutes)
  • Ingmar Bergman Makes a Movie, 1963 (146 minutes) - a 5-part documentary produced by Swedish television detailing the making of Winter Light
  • New high-definition digital transfer of all films with restored image and sound
  • New video discussions with Bergman biographer Peter Cowie
  • Essays by film scholars
  • Poster gallery & trailers


Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: A Film Trilogy By Ingmar Bergman (Criterion Collection) On DVD